I'm a TP Newbie and just saying Hi

LionessPlanet

May 30, 2013
Northern UK
Hi folks
Just wanted to say hi as today is my first time of being on this forum although after several years of "dementia" life experience I won't claim to be a newbie to dementia. Just a quick one liner as to where I'm "at" - my mother (is now in a CH) is in the latter stages of vascular dementia and is just at the point of having to be referred because she is struggling to swallow her food now.
I've been blogging for a while now (on facebook and on a personal blog) about my experiences but I didn't know this forum existed so will be visiting from now on.
I've been reading through a few of the posts on here and can empathise with so many of them and feel myself nodding in agreement when I spot something I've seen/experienced myself etc.
The truth is that up until now I've pretty much managed without any support from any professional organisations and sometimes I do wonder who on earth I can talk to especially when I feel I'm about to crack up, or I'm just in despair.
Now that I have found this forum (and have installed the app on my phone), I now can see there is somewhere to sound off and get support from others. :)

Dazmum

Jul 10, 2011
Horsham, West Sussex
Welcome, LionessPlanet (amazing name!) This is a really good place to crack up, rant and to get support and kindness, as I have found. There is also the Tea Room to have a laugh in when you need one of those too. x

60's child

Apr 23, 2013
suffolk
Hi Lionessplanet