IGNITE - iPad app designed to detect early signs of dementia

rhianconvery

Feb 24, 2021
Hi everyone,

My name is Rhian, and I am a PhD student at the Dementia Research Centre in UCL. As part of my PhD, I have helped to develop an iPad-based app called "Ignite" which we hope will test people’s thinking more easily than standard psychology tests, particularly in the early detection of frontotemporal dementia (FTD).

Ignite contains fun adaptations of standard psychology tests, that can test a wide range of brain functions in just 20 minutes. We are now looking for healthy controls to test the app in order to generate some normal data for the tasks before we can use the app in dementia research. We are particularly lacking healthy volunteers aged between 20 and 50!

If you would like to help us validate this promising tool, that could help to detect early signs of dementia in the future, then please download "IGNITE App" from the App Store onto an iPad and complete the fun games. Your contribution would be hugely appreciated!

Best wishes,
Rhian

Please note the Ignite app is only available for iPad at the moment, but we do hope to develop the app for other devices in the near future.

Last edited:

Countryboy

Mar 17, 2005
South West
if this hepls :)
ok as my previous reply I did the test however I thought it wasn’t designed for the older generation especially over age 75 possibly with No technology experience of computers , iPad etc I have been working on computers since 1985/86 over 35 years and still struggled at first it took me a few minutes to get my head around. :confused::D it by then I had already completed a couple of the tests when it came to the pairs eye’s / meanings will I just couldn’t understand that at all :confused::confused: the remainder of the test seem fairly easy;):) by the way I was diagnosed with dementia 22 years ago Alzheimer’s & FTD:)

Probally 75% would fail the test maybe ever 85% in the older age group

Countryboy

rhianconvery