I Need Some Advice???

Spidey

Oct 27, 2007
Plymouth
Hi,

I hope i'm doing this right as it's my first time on the forum.

I need some help and advice regarding my Dad, he was diagnosed with Alzheimer's about 3 years ago. In the past couple of months my fiancee and I have bought a house with my dad so we can look after him 24/7. He has his own living room/kitchen and bedroom so he still has some independence.
I would say he is in the middle stages of Alzheimer's but these last couple of weeks he has taken a real turn for the worse, the simple things that he use to be able to do for himself i.e turn the television on and change the channel has just gone from him. I have recently had his eye's tested and he now has new glasses, which I thought may improve the situation because he was struggling to see what he was doing, but it hasn't. My dad has lost the get up and go in him and I find it really hard to motivate him and find simple activities for him to do and enjoy. Any Ideas???
He has a CPN and a OT and they are trying to find him a day centre to attend, as his OT won't be with him much longer, but no day centre's exist in Plymouth for someone like my Dad, as he is only 64.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello Spidey, welcome to TP.

You and your fiancee really have done well for your father, making a home for him.

The lack of provision for younger people with Alzheimers is becoming quite a problem. Have you contacted your local AS branch, at;

County House
12-13 Sussex Street
Plymouth
PL1 2HR
Telephone 01752 255399
Fax 01752 301876

Email plymouthalzheimers@yahoo.com
Website http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/Plymouth

Someone there might have some idea of any available provision.

As for ideas to motivate..............well my husband was diagnosed two years ago and I`m finding it really difficult too.