I don’t know where to start!!

Billbowbaggins

Jan 18, 2019
Hello everyone,
I’m at a total lost where to start to be honest. My father has vascular dementia and he has gone down hill rapidly. We obviously need now to get him into a care home that can cater for his needs. I don’t who to contact first, where to go or what to ask for? Where do I start. I live in Worthing West Sussex. I’ve read so much literature and it’s over whelming, my mind is scrambled. It would be nice just for simple advise in plain English! Thanks in advance

nae sporran

Oct 29, 2014
Bristol
Welcome to TP, Bilbobaggins. It is overwhelming, I know how you feel. Have you asked your local carers support centre, I find the one in Bristol to have some really good advisors. https://www.carerssupport.org.uk/contact-us/ will take you to your nearest office. Sorry, I have no direct experience of care homes, but care needs assessments can be helpful.

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Will your dad be self-funding (ie assets - savings, property, etc - of over £25000) or will he need Local Authority financial support?
If he is self-funded then you can go ahead and organise it yourself, but if he is going to need LA funding (or his funds will go below the £25,000 within a few months) then you will need to work with Social Services. Contact Social Services for a needs assessment for your dad, so that they can assess his needs.

Susan11

Nov 18, 2018
Hello everyone,
I’m at a total lost where to start to be honest. My father has vascular dementia and he has gone down hill rapidly. We obviously need now to get him into a care home that can cater for his needs. I don’t who to contact first, where to go or what to ask for? Where do I start. I live in Worthing West Sussex. I’ve read so much literature and it’s over whelming, my mind is scrambled. It would be nice just for simple advise in plain English! Thanks in advance
You probably need to find out whether your father is going to be self funding or not.