• All threads and posts regarding Coronavirus COVID-19 can be found in our area specifically for Coronavirus COVID-19 discussion.

You can directly access this area >here<.

I care for my husband with dementia

AuntieGilly

Sep 7, 2020
Hi there

I'm completely new to this, so not sure how to go on or what to say really. My husband had a stroke about five years ago, which left him with vascular dementia. It wasn't too bad up to the start of this year, when he really became confused and disorientated. He has his lucid moments but he seems to fall asleep and stay in his dreams when he wakes up. Does anyone else have this experience?

Bunpoots

Volunteer Host
Apr 1, 2016
Nottinghamshire
Hi @gillstead welcome to Dementia Talking Point

My dad had vascular dementia and he used to sometimes insist that things had happened which had not. In the early stages we believed him until we realised he was remembering his dreams and thinking they were real. I think it’s fairly common.

I’m glad you’ve found this forum as you’ll get lots of information and support here.

Pete1

Jul 16, 2019
Hi @AuntieGilly, welcome to the forum. My Mum often did the same, woke up quite confused and insistent that certain events had occurred, I used to go along with it unless it was a bad 'event' then used to try and calm and reassure her and gently change the subject. As @Bunpoots says I think it is quite a common occurrence and can seem quite convincing.

It can be quite a lonely experience caring for a loved one with dementia, so keep posting you will always find a listening ear hear. All the best.

imthedaughter

Apr 3, 2019