How to settle mums estate as my father is coexecutor but has lost capacity.

Rich tea

Apr 6, 2021
Hi, I’m a newbie on the forum and would appreciate some advice (I fear this could be the first of many questions).
My mother recently died and my father could no longer manage at home. He has moved to a care home and has been assessed by his social worker as having lost capacity. I’d like to get on with settling my mother’s estate, but my father is a coexecutor. I’ve seen that people can decline to be executor but without capacity I don’t think signing a deed of renunciation would be valid. Is there some other way to legitimately get around this?Just to add there is no PoA for my father.
Thanks for any advice.
Rich

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello @Rich tea

I`m sorry I have no idea of the legalities of this although someone may be able to help you soon.

Meanwhile perhaps it will be best to contact Dementia Connect who I`m sure will be able to advise.

nitram

Apr 6, 2011
Bury
You may not need to prove the will.
If your mother left everything to your father and all her assets are joint with him everything will pass to him outside of the will.
With joint accounts the bank should simply convert any account to sole in his name on sight of your mothers death certificate.

Else try a webchat with the courts and tribunals service.

thistlejak

Jun 6, 2020
I was thinking the same as @nitram , that everything might pass to your dad .
One thing I would suggest , what you feel able, is to start the process of applying for Deputyship for your Dad. It is a long process even pre Covid. Without POA you won't be able to manage your dad's finances and now that he has been deemed to lack capacity he will not be able to grant POA so the only alternative is Deputyship.

blueorchid

Feb 18, 2016