How to introduce live in carers

Josephine1

Jan 5, 2016
Hi,
I'm new to TP and having seen some of the posts I thought it worth asking for people's experience on how to make introducing live in carers successful.

My parents both have mid-stage dementia (Mum - Alzheimers and Dad - Vascular). For 18 months we have just about been managing with day carers coming for 3-4 hours a day to help with meals, medicine and cleaning. My sisters and I regularly visit and are concerned that they are getting more confused and not able to cope overnight so we are keen to introduce live in carers. However my Mum is very fussy and can be rude to carers if she takes a dislike to them (which happens regularly) so we are nervous about whether she will accept people living in her home.

In particular having spoken to a number of care companies and introduction agencies they've explained that it's normal to switch between different carers every 2 weeks. Our concern is that Mum would have just got use to someone when a new person is introduced and she may start to reject them all on principle.

It would be good to know other people's experience of introducing live in carers and whether people have found 2 week rotas are the best option. Alternatively has anyone been successful in finding a single main carer to look after a couple with dementia? I understand why it could be too much but feel it would suit them better if we could find the right carer.

Does anyone have experience / suggestions that could increase our odds of it being successful? If we can't get live in carers sorted then we will have to think about moving them into a home which would be sad as we don't feel we couldn't cope with looking after them .

Thanks!

fizzie

Jul 20, 2011