How many people are using or have used live in care for your relative?

doodle1

May 11, 2012
I have been managing live in care for the last five years ,first for both parents ,now just for mum. I wondered how long people managed to do this for and if they transferred their PWD to a home what was the tipping point or the reasons behind that choice. And also how did you supervise that care and how often you visited your PWD at home. I visit between three times a week and daily depending on the carer.

BJS

Feb 10, 2017
I have been managing live in care for the last five years ,first for both parents ,now just for mum. I wondered how long people managed to do this for and if they transferred their PWD to a home what was the tipping point or the reasons behind that choice. And also how did you supervise that care and how often you visited your PWD at home. I visit between three times a week and daily depending on the carer.

we have full time live in care for my father. I visit about once a month as I live a long way away. A sibling goes about every 2 weeks as they live a bit closer. We do A LOT on the phone! Currently it seems to be working, though it is relatively early days. We went from having 3-4 long visits a day and a night sitter, but that was getting so expensive (at an hourly rate) and didn't give the continuity of care he needs. We always thought that if he didn't know where he was and maybe didn't recognise anything/anyone it would be time to move him (assuming it doesn't happen before then is the money runs out). At 94, blind, fairly immobile and with mixed dementia, a move now would be really hard. He does sometimes question where he is but usually knows he is still in the house he has lived in for nearly 50 years

Sorry, just edited to say hi doodle1 - I only realised it was you after I posted

Last edited:

missmole

Feb 16, 2017
my mother has live-in care