How do you know when an AD sufferer needs full time care?

sammybear

Feb 3, 2008
Hi, this is my first time here. My Dad has been diagnosed with AD for the past 2 years. He is 62. He is single and only has my two brothers and I to help him. He currently lives independently in a flat but a part time warden is in the building every weekday morning. He can no longer drive and I am now concerned about his ability to feed himself and wash himself. I am 35 and have 3 children age 6, 3 and nearly 1. I do as much as I can for Dad but he gets flustered by the children. I used to do all his shopping and washing for him but he found this too confusing and now insists on doing it himself. I can't bear to see him looking scruffy or dirty or smelly but don't know at what point we step in and insist we re-evaluate his accomodation. He has always been very independent and he is still too aware of his condition to go into a home. He also thinks that his condition is not obvious to anyone but it clearly is. I worry that he is out and about on his own. My brothers recently took him to an international rugby game where, when visiting the loo, he missed the urinal by a foot! Does anyone know when the next steps need to happen? He can no longer read and finds the simplest tasks confusing and stressful. He doesn't know the date or the time and I can't guarantee he eats daily. If anyone has had a similar experience I would really appreciate your views. Thanks.

christine_batch

Jul 31, 2007
Buckinghamshire
Dear Sammybear,
I am sorry to hear about your Father.
Unfortunately it is time they extra help is sought.
Does your Father have a Social Worker ?
Can you possible take him to the Doctor's for a M.O.T. but writing everything done on a list to give to G.P.