How do TIAs show up?

BeckyJan

Nov 28, 2005
Derbyshire
My husband was confirmed Alz. some 4/5 yrs ago. Since then I was told he may have Mixed Dementia :confused: but I am not too concerned about the diagnosis.

I would like to hear from folk about the nature of TIAs. He was hospitalised some 5 months ago following a serious fall. Following his return home in May there have been 'episodes' which I suspect could be TIAs.

Typically during one of these episodes he will be very confused, may complain of feeling dizzy, sleeps heavily and then may be slurred and left eye very droopy. He may mention vision irregularities, eg. double vision or movement. This could continue for several hours and then later he may be bright as a button!!!

Please could others share their esperiences on TIAs.

Best wishes Jan

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
Jan - I would say you've got it spot on, particularly when you mention increased one sided droopiness, and subsequent recovery.. Not that I'm an expert though: I never managed to work out definitively whether the episodes my mother had were TIAs or seizures (definitely some of the latter, but quite likely some of the former). Unfortunately brain damage e.g. strokes which cause scarring which can, later on, produce seizures.

Love

citybythesea

Mar 23, 2008
coast of texas