How do I know I'm following the rules?

Polly H

Nov 26, 2009
Hello,

I've been using the Talk site since November 2009 but I'm still uncertain if I'm doing things right.

I sent a couple of private messages recently to people who had responded to my posts but they don't seem to be there:confused: Have I done something wrong?

Polly H

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
Polly - when you say "not there" do you mean when you go to your Private Message screen, Jump to Folder Outbox they aren't there? Or is it possible that instead of sending them as private messages, you've sent them as visitor messages (in which case they will appear under the person's profile).

Polly H

Nov 26, 2009
Hi Jennifer,

I'm not sure.... I'll go and look.

I'm useless with technology and feel so stressed out at the moment I'm paranoid I've upset someone (unwittingly)

Back in a moment.

Polly H

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
Well I can assure you that this isn't the result of upsetting anyone.

Just hold on a sec and I'll set up a series of pictures so you can see how to do this.

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
First of all in , the right hand top corner of the screen you'll see something like this. Obviously it will be your username not mine :) Click on the Private Messages link

Picture 5.png

Then you'll come to a screen like thisPicture 4.png

See the Jump to Folder: ?

Use the arrow key to go to Sent Items so it looks like this
Picture 6.png

At this point you'll see all the messages you have sent. If you're still having problems (or this isn't clear, which it might not be :D) post again.

Polly H

Nov 26, 2009
Thanks Jennifer,

Got this.... checked the box says I have "0" In and "0" sent.

Maybe I did something wrong and the emails never went? What do you think?

Polly H

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
Well definitely they didn't go. Are you sure you didn't simply answer a post on the forum?

Here's how to find out: click on your name in this thread like so

Picture 7.png

this will give you a popup like this