Hi-advice needed

SALMONJANE

Aug 8, 2013
Hi everyone,

I'm new to TP and new to Alzheimer's, my dad was diagnosed about a month ago and I'm just looking for any advice out there, the doctor kind of gave him a diagnosis and some tablets and left us to it. I don't know what we should or shouldn't be doing or how to help him, what to expect in the future, what help is out there, just anything really!!!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Jane xx

Eternity

Jul 17, 2013
London
Hi Jane

Welcome to TP. You'll find lots of information, advice and support here. It is a wonderful place full of generous people.

I'm sure others will contribute soon

When my mum was diagnosed a few years back I think I spent a zillion hours on the internet just reading up on Alzheimer's. That both informed me (as I knew nothing) and scared me a little - but worth doing a bit of it if you are a detail person

Then I contacted my local alzhieimer's society who came and visited my mum and me, talked through the illness, gave me lots of advice and sign posting on to other info. I found that really helpful. Could you do that as a start?

I'm sorry the doctor was so rubbish. They could have at least given you some information.
Does your dad live alone? How does he cope now?

It is a tough illness as you'll see from TP posts. Both for the person with Alzheimer's and for their carer. The difficulty is that it is hard to say what symptoms a person will have and when. so things may stay as they are for a while, there may be a decline, then another steady period.

There are lots and lots of challenges but some good times too (my mum developed a sense of humour since her Alzheimer's).

It is lovely that your dad has you to look out for him.

Good luck and keep posting

SALMONJANE

Aug 8, 2013