Help

beckibee

Jun 20, 2013
Hi I'm new to this but really need some advice, my mum has Alzheimer's and she is starting to get very down and depressed, her illness is not something we can ever discuss with her. She feels useless as she has nothing to do, my dad is her main carer and does a fantastic job, its just that she's bored silly and can't actually manage to do anything. I have looked on loads of websites and tried various suggestions of activities for her , nothing seems to work because she just can't do them. She was always so fit and active, they walk my dog 4 days a week and this is really good for them both, but when at home and my dad has to do other things she is getting very down. She just looks so miserable. I know there are cafes etc for her to visit or both of them but they are always in a morning and they do dog walking then. I just want her to be happy, she never did really have any hobbies, she walked a lot and was always helping others, so there is nothing that we can call on to get her involve in. Sorry to go on, if anyone has any suggestions please let me know, I'm willing to try anything. My mum is only 71 and still very fit.

Big Effort

Account Closed
Jul 8, 2012
Hello Beckybee,

Welcome to the forum!
If I knew what stage your Mum is at, it would be easier to give concrete suggestions.
In the early to moderate stages I could keep Mum busy. We made endless batches of jam (presents for anyone who came anywhere near us). We used to go together to pick rosehips, and made delicious rosehip jam (labour of love!). Sloe jelly, lavender bags, notelets, I wrote round robins for her and left space so she could write a paragraph of her own, and the family got all the updates.

Now Mum is quite severe and she can't do anything on her own. Now she loves to watch DVD's. Jane Austen was always a favorite and she watches the whole lot regularly. Downton Abbey. Mrs Bucket (Bouquet) and Keeping Up Appearances, It couldn't happen to a vet, Dad's Army......