help to understand

at40

Mar 14, 2014
co tyrone
hi all, im new to this so I will probably make a few mistakes. My mum has dementia and my family and I look after her,we stay with her at night, she has started day centre 1 day a week 3 weeks ago, but this past 3 weeks has been v hard, she goes over to the neighbours about 10 times a day. I feel so sorry for them n don't know how to cope, I work 4 days a week n have a young family but I cant help worrying about what she is up to when im not wth her, I call in every day and take her up to my house most days for few hours to relieve the boredom for her, but cant switch off when she is on her own.:(

angelface

Oct 8, 2011
london
What a hard situation! Can you get her checked out by the GP in case an infection is making her worse recently?

bilslin

Jan 17, 2014
hertforshire
Hi at40 and welcome to TP. You'll find lots of help and advice on here so you've come to right place. Does your mum have any think else in place there an org. That can come in to your mum and visit that are called crossroads. If you get someone from Alzheimer's to visit you they can refer your mum. Also age concern do a lot. Is there a 10-3 club in your area that your mum can go to. Or maybe more day centre if she enjoys it. At least you know they are safe when they are there. Are you getting enough care coming in. Good luck lindaxx

at40

Mar 14, 2014
co tyrone