Help please

gillian69

Sep 7, 2006
Cambridgeshire
Hi

I am looking for some help with the drugs that are available to people suffering from AD.

My mum was taking aricept and has recently become very violent and is walking with the police bringing her back on regular occasions.

She has just been admitted to a respite care home and within the first day she has been given Temezapan, half a tablet?

What options are available to us, we hae a meeting on wednesday with i beleive Social Services.

Please can anyone offer advice, if she is to return home, my dad needs some form of medication for her anger?

Thanks

Gillian:confused:

Lanie

Aug 31, 2008
Surrey
My Mum is on the Rivastagmine patch which releases slowly over 24hours. I'm new to this so couldn't say whether it helps with aggression just a different medication. Have you tried searching the internet for Alzheimers drugs, it may give you some answers. Sorry I don't think I've been very helpful. I do hope you find some answers!

Lanie

jackie1

Jun 6, 2007
Cheshire
Hi,

I'm really do not know enough about the available mediation to help. But I would suggest contacting the Alzheimers Society's help line. And when you meet with your mother consultant asking his/her advise and ask that to explain what each type of mediation does and the pros and cons of each.
Jackie

The helpline is usually open from 8.30am to 6.30pm Monday to Friday. Alzheimer's Society Dementia Helpline 0845 300 0336.

BeckyJan

Nov 28, 2005
Derbyshire
Hello - not sure how helpful I can be - my husband is on Aricept and I think it is becoming less effective. If you have doubts about medication I do think only the Consultant can help you.

It is a wretched illness and maybe we do have to accept that sometimes NO medication can help. We can only do the best we can.

Keep posting - I am sure further comments will be forthcoming.

Best wishes Jan

Skye

Aug 29, 2006
SW Scotland