Hello - I'm new to Talking Point

farnorth

Jun 17, 2008
Thurso
Hi

My father was diagnosed with Alzheimers about 2 years ago. He is 86 and his main carer is my Mother who is 83. I am his daughter, I am retired and live close by and help every day. He also has day care coming in every day to help him get up and have a shower etc. They also have a home help coming in twice a week.

He has had radiotherapy and chemotherapy for cancer earlier in this year and was in hospital for about 8 weeks (5 of these in Inverness 110 miles away). The cancer has been shrunk and may not affect him again for a number of years. This experiences has made his Alzhemers much worse.

The Doctors, the NHS and Local Social Services have all been very helpful.

I know my father is old - (but dispite everything is reasonably fit - he cycled up to his early 80s) - and we are getting help but I feel very depressed at times wondering if I have dementia because my memory is not the best.

Then I count my blessings - a supportive husband, two children who have each have given me a lovely grandson. I do volunary work, play lawn green bowls and bridge. Live is not so bad.

Last edited:

TLJ

Jun 11, 2008
Kent
Welcome Farnorth.
Coincidence cos my dad is 86 with Alz and physically fit and was cared for by my disabled 83 year old mother (she died a couple of weeks ago) so now I have moved in with him to be his full time carer and trying to think I am doing it for the right reasons even though I have had to give up my full time job. I am on my own with him but get a little time off occassionally when my brother takes him out.
Don't worry about your memory going a bit....par for the course of being a human being....
Am reading a book called 'The Selfish Pig's Guide to Caring' (get it from Amazon) and its funny and very helpful. It helps to see the funny side of things.
Keep your chin up. And its good to talk!

helen.tomlinson

Mar 27, 2008
Hello Farnorth