having problems with my father not washing.

nanny2twins

Aug 23, 2015
I am new to caring for my dad. He is not washing or cleaning his teeth. Bath time is a nightmare as I cant seem to make him understand that all the clothes he's been wearing have to go in the wash. He gets out of bath with pj bottoms on with dirty trousers on top, plus all the other dirty clothes in bedroom. He gets really stroppy when I try to explain. I have got to the stage where I dread bathtime. I have been his carer for 3 months now. I do realise things are going to get a lot worse, but this is the only worrying issue I have at the moment.

Beate

May 21, 2014
London
Could you just take his clothes away at night and wash them, then present him with clean clothes the next morning, as if nothing had changed? Don't make a big fuss about it, explaining won't help. Unless he's really smelly or skin hygiene is an issue (incontinence), people don't have to wash every day. Would wet wipes help?

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
Hi Nanny, welcome to TP
How does the situation work, do you care for him in at home or does he live elsewhere?
If you're all in the same house it's different to living apart. As Beate says I hid all my wife's clothes and just put out something new each morning and night but she co-operates and get's changed. I just tell her to take that off and put this on (with help) and she goes along with it (so far).
As it's a first post are you aware of and getting all the help available to you?
Don't be a stranger, come and tell us what's up because whatever it is we've seen it all before on here (somewhat sadly).
K

Witzend

Aug 29, 2007
SW London