Good books on dementia

Chuggalug

Mar 24, 2014
Norfolk
Hello everyone.

Does anyone know of a good book that can properly explain all the stages of dementia? I've been caring for my husband for the last four years and have had no support whatsoever. Thank goodness, that might be changing tomorrow as someone from the Alzheimer's Society is popping over to chat with us both. I hope I get a result, at long last, and finally have a bit of support; even if it's only coming here.

Meanwhile, if this also fails, I need far more information as to what I'm 'in for' in the long haul. I've done much research on the Internet and have a few books detailing other people's stories. However, I'm living my own story and I need educating.

Any help would be rewarding. Thank you,

Jen

FifiMo

Feb 10, 2010
Wiltshire
Hiya,

I think you have already found the difficulty in reading books and trawling the internet looking for information and that is that it can very much come across as a sort of generalisation that doesn't match your own experiences. At the end of the day you are looking for information and answers that helps you deal with what you are experiencing here and now.