Giving up work

Kittyann

Jun 19, 2013
I'm a single woman and an only child and I work full time. I've been caring for my Mother who has dementia for the past four years. She has now reached the stage where she needs somebody to be with her all the time. I've been using a mix of public health and private carers during the day and I take over at night and weekends.

But lately I've been getting an increasing number of phone calls during the day from the carers for one reason or another. The latest was because my Mum wouldn't let one of them in. She really wants me there all the time. So I'm just getting to feeling that it would be less hassle and less stress on me if I just gave up work. Because its getting really hard to keep up with both work and home demands. I can afford to do it for a while and I know it won't be forever.

But I wondered if anybody here had done the same and has any advice one way or the other before I make the decision. Nobody I know in "real life" has been through this so while their advice is well intentioned its not based on experience.

Last edited:

Lizjg

Dec 29, 2011
Near Newark / Grantam
Hi I worked in school and I was given a term sebatical as my Mum was going down hill and I wanted to be able to give my Dad some time off on a regular basis. Is it worth seeing if you can get some time off as a sebatical before rather than giving up work, therefore giving yourself some breathing space.

Noorza

Jun 8, 2012
While I think it is commendable it has the danger of making a person feel trapped. Work is a stressor but is it also an escape? You say you can't afford to do it long term, have you thought about what would happen when you run out of funds to care, then you'll need a care home and be jobless?

This disease is unpredictable, I may also consider, from my selfish perspective if the time for a care home has now come?

These are just things to think about, but am sure you have already.

massy

Oct 13, 2013
carmarthenshire