Genetic testing/counselling

Discussion in 'Younger people with dementia and their carers' started by JessL87, Oct 9, 2018.

1. JessL87

JessL87 Registered User

Jul 19, 2017
    West Yorkshire
    I am just wanting to know if anyone has had genetic testing/counselling due to family members having early onset Alzheimer's??
    My mum was diagnosed last year at the age of 53. Mum has got worse quite quickly in the last year despite having rivastigmine patches. Her psychologist, who we saw today, has now introduced memantine, she also asked if genetic counselling/testing would be something I'd be interested in finding more about? I think i should as i have two young children myself and would like to plan ahead but just wanted to hear other peoples stories/opinions.
    Thanks

2. try again

try again Registered User

Jun 21, 2018
    I think I'd want to know and have the screening. I have no practical experiences to pass on but knowing myself if I didn't it would be a nagging worry.

3. Louise7

Louise7 Registered User

Mar 25, 2016
  4. Normaleila

Normaleila Registered User

Jun 4, 2016
    What a difficult situation. You need counselling before you are tested. Consider whether you need life insurance before testing - afterwards it may not be possible.

5. Delphie

Delphie Registered User

Dec 14, 2011
    This is very much my personal opinion but I wouldn't want to know if the odds were stacked against me. It's not that I bury my head in the sand as a person, in fact quite the opposite, but for me this rests on what can be done about it, what would be gained if the news was bad. If there was a cure (or when there is a cure) or an early intervention making a huge difference because of some new drugs or therapies, then yes, I'd be all for it. But for now I wouldn't want something I can do little about hanging over me.