FTD and also now MND

Sringtime

Jan 9, 2014
Cheshire
Hello All,
It is a few months since I last posted on here. The reason for that is in September my husband who had originally been diagnosed with Vascular Dementia was finally diognosed with Frontal Temporal Dementia with Motor Neurone Desease. So we have spent many hours in hospitals and waiting rooms plus needing time to come to terms with this horrendous diagnosis.
I have decided I must post on here again as I studied for a Dementia examination, I became a Dementia friend. But, have only since September realised how very misleading the understanding of Dementia is. Because there are so many people who still think Dementia is Alzheimers and that its only Alzheimers. People link it straight away to forgetfulness and getting lost.
It makes me so frustrated because there are many many types of dementia FTD being one of them that does not manifest itself in this way at all.
I have today wrote an explanation to all my friends on FTD Dementia and how it has affected my husband so that they understand he doesn't get lost, his long term memory is outstanding. But there are many things that have changed on our journey. And finally he has this evil MND which is relentless and terrible.
But can I please urge everyone to think about calling it another name not The Alzheimers Society, because the name paints the wrong picture. And if your loved one had FTD you would know this. Why oh why can't it be called the Dementia Society which then envelopes all the Dementias.

Frustrated

malc

Aug 15, 2012
north east lincolnshire