first time

anniec

Jan 27, 2014
birmingham sheldon
Hi im new to this but could do with some of your knowledge. My mom is 68yrs old and was diagnosed with dementia last may. She also suffers with fibromiyalgia not sure if spelt right. At first when we told this news about mom I was with my dad and we couldn't believe what had just been said I straight away started to find info about dementia. Mom just thought she was going to be but away in a nut home we assured her that this was not going to happen and she would be stay at home. I have two other sisters but they live about 50min away so they aren't as close to home as I am so I see what my mom is like every day and what my dad has to cope with, times she would just stay in bed crying in pain and when she's like this her dementia is worse. moms doesn't do any think in the house any more my dad does it all cooking, washing ect. I have got a cleaner going in so my dad doesn't have to do it. That's when she repeats herself and doesn't understand why she's like this and why my dad hasn't got her out of bed.
At the moment i'm struggling because I don't think my dad has come to terms with moms condition and I keep telling dad that she needs to get up in the morning and go downstairs for her breakfast I no dad thinks he is doing his best but I think she needs a bit of a routine. (am I wrong should I back off ) I would like mom to go to some of the clubs that are around but mom has never been a mixer and has no friends. But all I want is the best for my mom and the way she is at the moment I think we will lose her quicker than I would like to.:(. Im sorry if ive gone on a bit but I don't know what to do Thanks

Dagne

Feb 16, 2013