First post - 27 and Living and Caring for my Grandfather alone

Stw04

Dec 18, 2021
Hi there :)

It’s my first post on this forum. I have been caring for my grandfather for 4/5 years now. He’s in the middle stages and it’s becoming too much. I have to work (although it’s from home). And I feel like the choice is becoming him vs me. . He is getting angry more frequently, we are having occasional night terrors which I expect will become more frequent, there aren't really any normal moments for us together any more,..

I have three hours of care a week But it’s not enough. I spend a lot of time almost hiding from him now. Because I know if I leave my room I will be meet with barrage of needs. For years I have cooked cleaned handled the finances, doctors, cooked, cleaned him tried to make him laugh and take him out. Since age (23)I love him so much.

Tonight the usual problem of me trying to clean the kitchen and cook occurred. I psyched myself up before going downstairs lol.

The kitchen is too small for me to clean with him in there - so I try to redirect him to ‘tidy’another room. Dosent work. Ends up angry at me because I say I like to clean alone. I don’t. It’s just he can’t clean, and when I’m cleaning it’s like he’s ‘always in the way’ he can’t move out of the way etc if I need to get to a cupboard. It’s so small but it happens every day. I used to love to cook, but now I often avoid going in there because he likes to plod around the house. And I know it’s so small. But I feel like all my emotional strength goes on these little interactions and trying to stay calm and peaceful.

I feel really alone as it’s just me and him and no family near by who help.

I was pretty good at self care meditation and the like. But now it feels that no matter what I do I just can’t cope. Every Friday I end up crying my eyes out. At what point do you decide you can’t do it anymore? Or any tips on how to grow even stronger?

Last edited:

MartinWL

Jun 12, 2020
London