Feeling overwhelmed

figueredo11

Jan 4, 2016
Liverpool
Hi, im new to this. Im looking after my Mum, desperately trying to keep her at home; to satisfy both of our wishes. Not in great health myself following major surgery 4 yrs ago. Basically, Mum needs 24/7 care following deterioration in Jan. I have lost my job but do need to work but just cant see that happening . Today, i put her back to bed after lunch as she seemed very tired; she has bn more tired these past few weeks . 20 mins later, she is on floor, incontinent of faeces.She had sellotape and was putting it all over the floor. I couldn't get her up so had to call for an ambulance to help me. I sorted Mum, cleaned up and she is resting in bed. I have just come down for drink and a cry and she has gotten out of bed looking for me in my bedroom . She is talking but in riddles. I just feel so sad and overwhelmed . She is probably end stages, diagnosed about 4 _5 yrs ago with Vascular dementia . She cant do anything for herself although she can still feed herself. Really poor mobility so at risk of falling. Im sad for my beautiful Mum and i miss her. Im trying to treasure this precious time together cause i know things can only get worse.

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
Hello @figueredo11 and welcome to the Forum.

I'm so sorry to read about your mum. It is indeed so terribly sad. I'm glad you've found this forum though. I have no doubt that your will get lots of support here. Please keep posting and let us know how things are. This is a great place to just share your feelings and concerns. There will always be someone around to listen.

Wishing you strength.

figueredo11

Jan 4, 2016
Liverpool
Y