feeling bad

christmas

Apr 27, 2014
Leicestershire
Hi need to tell someone Peter has always dealt with the money side of thing in the house and if I wanted any he would always give it to me no questions asked, well now he won't give me any so I have been taking it out his wallet he always has a lot and he has not noticed ,I am feeling so bad about it I have never done everything like this before but I need it . Am I doing the right thing he won't let me deal with the money I have talked about it but he said he can do it ,all the bills are paid direct debit thank God so I don't have to worry about that , but it making me so sad I have to do this,we have a joint bank account but I dare not use it .'m From Christmas x

chris53

Nov 9, 2009
London
Hi christmas, so sorry you are feeling upset and "sneaky" in order for you to have some housekeeping money, an obsession with money in different ways can go hand in hand with dementia, we have had this with both my mum and mum in law:eek: hopefully it may be just a phrase Peter is going through, I am hoping someone here may have gone through the same situation and offer advice, I just didn't want to "read and run" so can only send you a hug and fingers crossed that something can be sorted to ease your mind.
Chris x

marionq

Apr 24, 2013
Scotland
You are a grown woman with a joint bank account and presumably a bank card. Go to the bank and lift your own money. If you have a pension or other income open up a separate account in your own name and have everything paid into that. If your husband does t like it then let him lump it. In this age of independent working women I am aghast what women will let their partners away with.

Come on - be a big girl!

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
As his dementia developes you are going to have to do more and more for him - particularly with regards to things like finances.