Feedback on new wearable technology

arons

Oct 27, 2015
Hello,

I'm looking for feedback on if a new wearable technology will help caregivers. I was asked to develop this technology, but I have little experience as a caregiver, and I'm not sure if it will work given everything you go through.

The concept is this. The patient wears a sock with a sensor on it at night. If the patient gets up, the sock alerts the caregiver with a text or email. The sock has sensors in it, and small bluetooth device. The sock connects to a cell phone, and the phone sends the alert when it senses that the patient is up.

The idea is to help prevent night wandering. It's not a GPS like solution, as it doesn't give exact location, but it would notify you pretty quickly, and is less invasive.

What do you think? Thanks for any insight you have. I'd really like to help, but only if this technology/solution will help.

- Aron

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
I think it's in interesting idea but:

how do you make sure the person keeps the socks on? Because I don't have dementia but regularly go to bed with socks on (they seem to help with my night cramps) but equally regularly, remove them before the night is over. And I don't even have to bend over to do it: it's easy to remove them with the other foot.

I'm not sure that a mat by the bed connected in the way you describe might not be more useful. There are mats that give an audible alarm, and of course a mat can't track the person, but it doesn't sound like this would either. And a more effective alarm system that doesn't rely on sound might be good.

Katrine

Jan 20, 2011
England
When my mum was still getting out of bed at night her socks usually got wet. I will leave you to imagine how. :rolleyes: Socks need regular washing anyway. Wouldn't it be inevitable that someone would forget to remove the sensor and ruin it?

If something is removable then the chances are the person with dementia would remove it themselves.