Family not sharing information

RedMaggs

Aug 6, 2014
Llanidloes
Hi there

I am new to this and wonder if anyone has had the same problem.

My mum is undergoing the early stages of diagnosis, she has had blood tests and the like and is awaiting an appointment at the memory clinic. However I have only found out this today as other family members have been dealing with this. The first visit to her GP was a month ago when she was taken by one of my sisters, I visited her in the past couple of days as it was her birthday and became very concerned about her so was making phone calls to her GP and then spoke to my sister who told me she was sorting it all out and if I wanted to know anything I had to ring her after she returned from holiday as she had a lot of things to remember and so might not think to call me.

Has anyone any ways of dealing with this - the 2 members of my family who know have locked me out before - my mums GP suggested one contact and for her to disseminate any info, as one lives closest he suggested her - I am 90 miles away, she clearly doesn't feel that I have a right to know. I don't want to fall out with my family and need a way not to but still find info out about my mum who I have always been very close to.

Wolfsgirl

Oct 18, 2012
Nr Heathrow, Mum has AD & VD
How angry this must make you feel, the same thing happened to me with my sister so I completely understand.

What I wasn't able to do (it was never convenient for her so I hope you can though) is arrange a meeting for all siblings and agree a definite line of communication. it seems your sister has fallen at the first hurdle. Maybe you can use her impending holiday as a reason for a 'second in line' reliable communicator.