Double the Trouble...

House Pixie

Jun 9, 2015
Hi all,

Its my first time on here so go's.

First noticed something not right with MIL about 3years ago but around this time last year things got bad. She would lose her car while out shopping, sometimes forget where she lived etc etc.
She was also main carer for FIL who was in bad health.
Finally diagnosed last July.
Things seemed to go down hill fast and with hubby being an only child and us living next door too, life soon got very hard or so i thought.
Then the double whammy, FIL got it too.
He's now worse than her, double incontinent too.
With the help of a care package we are managing to keep them both at home but who knows for how long.
MIL now hates me and blames me for all these strange people invading her private space but if it hadn't of been for them i would of gone mad by now.

I do try to keep positive and laugh it off but its hard so very hard.

Canadian Joanne

Apr 8, 2005
Toronto, Canada
My heart goes out to you, especially since your husband is an only child. It is so very hard with one person with dementia, I can't even begin to imagine what you and your husband are going through.

I think you should start looking at nursing homes, just so you'll know what is available. My sister and I did that at least a year before my mother went into her current home. I find it helps me to be able to weigh things up before I'm at a crisis point.

Dustycat

Jul 14, 2014
North East