Does Mum really have dementia??

lizzyloo

May 25, 2012
HI, I'm new to this, so go easy on me...

Mum was diagnosed a couple of years ago, Dad is her main carer. I live about 2 hours drive away so can't be there all the time, but we encourage them to come to us as much as COVID allows... Mum will tell anyone who will listen (and those who don't) that she has a 'funny head'. If we go out for a meal, shops, coffee shop, a walk; anywhere.

Is it normal for someone with dementia to be so aware of it?

Is it terrible of me to be suspicious of her? I know from past experience that she lies. Is she simply enjoying the attention?

Recently I was at their home & was asking her about what she can/cannot do; she gave me a fairly comprehensive list of tasks she is unable to complete & why... I was of the belief that alzheimers sufferers were mostly oblivious to their problems, she is completely aware & apparently revelling in it. Meanwhile Dad is running after her like a slave (with a heart condition) & won't hear a bad word said.

I'm SO confused. I don't want to believe Mum is taking the mick, but is it possible ??

marionq

Apr 24, 2013
Scotland
@lizzieloo I am never confident that I know everything about dementia but I do know that my husband who had Alzheimer’s could not have pinpointed what the problem was. Certainly not making a list. His odd behaviour seemed perfectly logical to him in the moment. I remember him being brought home by the police and being very relaxed about it as if they were a taxi service. So perhaps you could suggest quietly to your Dad he steps back a bit and get some help in if needed.

Female1952

Apr 6, 2021
Hi

Do you think she's lying about being diagnosed? Or do you think she's hoodwinked the doctor? Either would seem very unlikely.

There is a forum on here called "I have dementia". You can read what some people with dementia have to say for themselves.