Does an existing EPA allow the attorney the same rights as a LPA?

Ady

Sep 12, 2013
I am an attorney with full powers on the EPA registered in my fathers name back in 2006. His mental capacity has reduced over the years and has now reached the point where I believe the mental and welfare agencies should consider placing him in a care facility. They are hesitant to do so and quote the Mental Capacity Act to me and add that my EPA only covers his property and affairs and they would have to consult with him, even though they accept he lacks the capacity to make decisions for himself.
Surely his well being and the decision to be made on where he resides, falls within the phrase, "all my property and affairs", with the emphasis on affairs.
I believe their decision is financially based, as it is less expensive to pay towards his "at home" care package than to pay for him to be housed in a more suitable care facility.
I understand an LPA makes the situation far clearer but I am unable to change what is now in place.

Has this situation been tested or addressed in any way?

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
Hi and welcome to Talking Point.

I'm afraid that the EPA relates only to financial matters. I've actual seen a judgment or perhaps guidance from the OPG/COP about someone trying to interpret "affairs" as you are trying to do which made it clear it that that interpretation would not fly.

Having said that, the truth is that 1)the mental capacity act code of practice makes it clear that everyone should consult with someone who holds an EPA if at all possible but also 2) even if you had an LPA for welfare, you couldn't necessarily place your father in a care home, since they still have a duty to consult with him. Have you read the Mental Capacity act code of practice? It makes a few things clearer and might give you the necessary ammo if your father is no longer safe at home.