DNAR decisions for your loved ones

lfc17

Nov 8, 2017
Hi everyone, I am a 2nd year student nurse and I am coming across Alzheimers so much so I signed up here so I can learn more about it. From your points of view, the people that really have a connection but do not sometimes feel like you are listened to. As a student nurse, I don't know how you can all be so pleasant sometimes after the experiences I've seen about how family members and carers are treated when the professionals are talking about your loved ones. An area I am particularly interested in is around DNAR (do not attempt resuscitation), I am researching this as it is a situation that feels needs to change. When they deem 'no capacity'. How are your opinions received by professionals on what you know your loved ones would want?. I understand if nobody wants to share such personal experiences

Amethyst59

Jul 3, 2017
Kent
I haven’t experienced this yet (as far as dementia is concerned) ...but with my late husband, I was asked if we wanted this...I was standing in a busy corridor and my daughter (16 at the time) was with me, and still remembers it. It was so crassly done. And unnecessary...our wishes were already recorded on the paperwork.

lfc17

Nov 8, 2017
I haven’t experienced this yet (as far as dementia is concerned) ...but with my late husband, I was asked if we wanted this...I was standing in a busy corridor and my daughter (16 at the time) was with me, and still remembers it. It was so crassly done. And unnecessary...our wishes were already recorded on the paperwork.

Thank you so much for your response. It is reasons like that I really want to research it further, I feel like it is such a huge decision and an emotional one. As human beings we are never ready to let someone go, to make that decision must be so hard. Especially to have it dealt with in such a cold way. That truly is horrible

LadyA

Oct 19, 2009
Ireland