Dementia Patches

Bella Cleo

Aug 31, 2013
Hi I am new to this and not sure if I am in the write place to post a question but here goes:

My mother has been given Transdermal Patches for the early signs of Alzheimer she has been on 4.5mg for two months and now has been given the 9.5mg - does anyone have experience of any side affects going from the low dosage to the high dosage? Thank you

FifiMo

Feb 10, 2010
Wiltshire
I take it the patch you are referring to is the exelon patch? The reason they give a small dose first is to check for major problems with the drug. Once they are satisfied this is not the case then they will consider increasing the dosage. Once on the higher dose you would think everything is fine but sometimes the dose is too much for people so please do watch for things that are out if the norm and contact her GP immediately if you are worried. Depending on how the symptoms are presenting themselves you should not feel bad about phoning an ambulance or going to A&E. It could be that the dr will just reduce the dosage that was working well before.

Hope this helps,

Fiona

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
My husband Watson Exelon patches for some time. He eventually changed to the capsules as he wouldn't keep the patches on':eek:

He did well on Exelon. I hope your mother does too.

Madaleelee

Apr 6, 2013
Suffolk
Allergic reaction to patches