Dad wants to change his will! What should I do?

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
The problem is if the father has a mental capacity assessment and it is determined he does have capacity he could fall out with Lilly over the matter and write a new will disinheriting both daughters.
Refusing to have anything to do with the will change and if it is decided he has capacity could alienate him from Lillly as well as the other sister, when dealing with people with AZ it's important to stay onside with them as far as possible, going against them in even the smallest way came get a disproportions over response from them as I'm sure many of us on here have found out the hard way.
K

northumbrian_k

Volunteer Host
Mar 2, 2017
Newcastle
I have some experience of a capacity test carried out by a GP as this was required when my wife was going to change her will to mirror changes in mine (at our solicitor's suggestion). On the day of the test she was not aware of discussing this with the solicitor and could not explain why she would want to change her will. The GP quickly and quite rightly felt that she had not demonstrated capacity. If your father has capacity he can act as he likes but I suspect that any test carried out might conclude that he hasn't. Either way you should keep out of it to avoid any future misunderstandings about your role and potential bad feelings.

AliceA

May 27, 2016
The problem is if the father has a mental capacity assessment and it is determined he does have capacity he could fall out with Lilly over the matter and write a new will disinheriting both daughters.
Refusing to have anything to do with the will change and if it is decided he has capacity could alienate him from Lillly as well as the other sister, when dealing with people with AZ it's important to stay onside with them as far as possible, going against them in even the smallest way came get a disproportions over response from them as I'm sure many of us on here have found out the hard way.
K