Coping with losing mum

Maximo01

Oct 11, 2019
Hi. I'm new to all of this. We lost mum yesterday who was my dad's rock. They were married for 41 years. They have taken care of each other's health issues for 20 years. My dad was diagnosed Alzheimer's 23 years ago but then 2 years ago undiagnosed due to not deteriorating in line with the condition. Does it matter what it's called though? Ultimately he has very poor short and mid term memory and as a result is easily confused, frustrated, fearful etc. My parents lived independently together with some carer support in place. After she passed yesterday my dad asked me what would happen to him now and said he didn't want to live alone. I have brought him home with me and there is lots to sort and I'm worried about how to help settle him into a routine and if he will be able to adapt. Whilst home is familiar for him, it's also now lonely. We have a busy and hectic family life with 3 dogs, 2 children under 10 and both work full time. If anybody has any good advice they can offer on how to handle this and what things could help with his confusion it would be very much appreciated.

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
After she passed yesterday my dad asked me what would happen to him now and said he didn't want to live alone. I have brought him home with me and there is lots to sort and I'm worried about how to help settle him into a routine and if he will be able to adapt. Whilst home is familiar for him, it's also now lonely

Hello @Maximo01

Please accept my condolences on the loss of your mum. I`ve never heard of anyone being undiagnosed with dementia before. You are doing a wonderful thing for your dad.

It`s really early days to make life changing decisions but once you are back to your normal routine it might be difficult for your dad to be at home alone, whether it`s his house or yours.