Continuing health car funding from hospital

ben

Mar 5, 2006
Hello

Like many on here I seem to be thrown in at the deep end as my mother has dementia and does not know who I am when I vist her.

The local hospital would now like to evict her to a nursing home but the care in the hospital is much better and she does not have to pay for it .

I would like to explore getting continuing care paid for by the nhs is there a slow way to go about this while keeping my mom in hospital so even if I fail she will still beneifit ?

If I do not select a care home can I be forced to do it are there any time limits ?

May

Oct 15, 2005
Yorkshire
Hi Ben & welcome
I have no experience of what you require, but I'm sure that Nada (moderator) would say to you, ring the Alzheimers Society helpline number and look at the fact sheets on the website. Keep posting and let us know how you get on. Take care

Brucie

Jan 31, 2004
near London
Hi Ben
same thing happened with my wife Jan - they wanted her moved from the hospital assessment ward and told me to find a home [initially].

In Jan's case, her care needs were such that, with the help of my local AS brance, we justified NHS Continuing Care funding and the local PCT then arranged a move to a superb nursing home, where Jan still lives.

The key to the funding is the degree of nursing need, and also the local PCT and its willingness to fit in guidelines that other PCTs may do.

I agree that you should check the Alzheimer's Society Help Line as a first step.

Good luck

P.S. you won't be able to have her stay at the hospital - they are not long term facilities, though ours kept Jan in her ward for 4 months until a place had become available at the home where she now is. They had no alternative. But then Jan's care needs were/are huge

noelphobic

Feb 24, 2006
Liverpool