Consultant refuses medication

Lstevens412

Jul 25, 2020
Good afternoon, my husband spoke to a memory consultant yesterday who confirmed his mums has Alzheimers. He didn’t think a brain scan would help, and he didn’t recommend any medication as she takes some other medication like a mild anti depressant, and a couple more. Is this common place? Do you have to fight for it? I have two friends whose parents both benefitted from medication. Any thoughts? I’m not an expert but you guys are! He is going to send us a report.

Rosettastone57

Oct 27, 2016
Welcome to the forum and others will along soon with better advice. However my mother in law had mixed dementia and was never offered any medication. She was a high falls risk and any dementia medication would have put her at greater risk of feeling unstable. The risks therefore outweighed the benefits

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
If you have got problems with your heart you often cant take the usual drugs for Alzheimers as it can be dangerous - one of the side effects is slowing the heart rate down.

No medication can treat the dementia. It may improve their symptoms, at least for a while, but nothing will slow down the progression. How well it improves symptoms cant be predicted, some people do very well on them, but others dont seem to gain any improvement, so its a question of weighing up the pros and cons.

Bunpoots

Volunteer Host
Apr 1, 2016
Nottinghamshire
Welcome from me too.

My dad was given medication for his dementia it I’m not sure it did him any good and when the dosage was increased his behaviour was a nightmare so it had to be decreased again. I wish he’d never have been given anything so your husband’s mum may be better without it.

I found this forum far more valuable for helping dad through his illness than anything the doctors had to offer.

Baker17

Mar 9, 2016