Concerns over forthcoming home visit

Bumbleb

Nov 19, 2013
Hi all, I'm new to TP and am struggling to understand dementia and the way forward .Since the beginning of the year my Step-mother who's 83 and lives 160 miles away has been complaining about hearing neighbours calling her and arguing etc. not possible as she has double glazing lives in a plot of 3/4 of an acre and is hard of hearing. Tried to get her to see the GP but would not as there was nothing wrong with her it was them. I carried on with my daily phone calls and monthly visits until June when I was told by the man who looks after her garden that she was (his words) losing the plot. Increased our visits to weekly spoke to neighbours who were concerned that she was acting out of character and having problems driving, persuaded her to put property up for sale and move to the area which we live and to not drive car. Hoped we could tick along until property sold and then I would be able to have her near and be able to visit daily to make sure she was ok. How wrong I was she rapidly got worse Doctor would not believe me and was reluctant to deal with me as I wasn't a blood relative, neighbours were phoning daily about her entering their house sitting in their garden etc. one week we made four visits each time she promised she wouldn't bother them but as soon as we left she would be back round there. Police became involved and finally Doctor took notice and referred her to the mental health team. Memory test were done and they put her on a low dose of psychotic drug we spent a week with her while drug kicked in and arranged for her to have drug administered by district nurse when we went home. This was fine for three days then back to harassing the neighbour with a vengeance . Taken to a mental health assessment unit at the beginning of September . Each time we visit she has some new tale to tell, asked me how my ex husband is when I said he wasn't my ex but is still my husband she said she couldn't believe