1. alfjess

alfjess Registered User

Jul 10, 2006
    south lanarkshire
    Hi Brucie

I think you are the expert.

When I post a message or start a new thread and if I've made a spelling mistake and try to correct it, or go back to add something, Why is it that I have to type the whole thing again, because, the following letter is deleted and then the next and so on? So therefore I have to redo the post from the correction,

Maybe it is something I am doing wrong, I don't know. Sometimes I just give up and don't post.

If you can help, it would be great, but I am not very technical. In simple English please

Thanks
    Alfjess

2. Grannie G

Grannie G Volunteer Moderator

Apr 3, 2006
    Kent
    Bruce is on holiday now, Alfjess, but do you know what? The same thing happens to me.

I think it`s something to do with how you place the cursor. When I work it out, [if I ever work it out] I`ll let you know.

3. Skye

Skye Registered User

Aug 29, 2006
    SW Scotland
    It's happened to me sometimes too, but not all the time. I just assumed it's because I'm using my laptop, and I hate the blinkin' touch pad!!

I bought a mouse to use instead, but as I usually have the machine on my knee, the mouse is not much good.

Maybe if we're all having problems, it's NOT OUR FAULT:D :D :D

4. IT_man

IT_man Registered User

Dec 10, 2006
    London
    Try pressing the Insert key

Try pressing the Insert key when this happens - there are two "insert" modes - one inserts the other overwrites.

cheers

Phil

5. Skye

Skye Registered User

Aug 29, 2006
    SW Scotland
    Thanks, Phil. I didn't know that, I'll try it next time.

6. Grannie G

Apr 3, 2006
    Kent
    Thanks Phil, I didn`t even know there WAS an insert key. :eek:

7. Grannie G

Apr 3, 2006
    Kent
    Hi Phil,

Thanks for the tip about the insert key, it worked :)

8. Skye

Skye Registered User

Aug 29, 2006
    SW Scotland