College project for Alzeheimers Society

laurencollege

Nov 26, 2007
Newquay
Hi to everyone that reads these forums,

I'm a full time student, and im working on an advertising brief for Alzheimer's Society. I have to take between 4 and 12 photos to show the effects of living with Alzheimer's and Dementia. I previously had no knowledge on Alzheimer's because sadly like most people i just did not think about it or people suffering with it. My grandad was diagnosed with Parkinson's years ago but i refused to see him when he suffered dementia as i wanted to remember him as he was, i think this is why im so interested in completing this brief. I have read about Alzheimer's and to some degree understand the effects but obviously i don't suffer from this and also i am not around people that have the disease. My grandad passed about 5 years ago, so this project is dedicated to him and anyone who has been touched by the disease.

My images need to be powerful and they are not allowed to contain any copy (writing), they need to explain themselves, also the images need to be respectful. The reason for me posting this is because i would like to hear from people that have been touched by this disease, and i would like your thoughts. I don't want to be a typical outsider and take the photos not understanding the disease. I am going to try and volunteer at a local home for a couple of hours next week, so i can spend time with the carers and Alzheimer's patients. I would appreciate any feedback and if anyone has any ideas for the photographs that will be amazing too.

I have been reading the stories on this forum and most of them have put a tear in my eye, i want to open peoples minds about Alzheimer's as more people are being diagnosed every year, even young people, but i also want to be respectful to everyone affected.

Thank you for your time in reading this and i hope some of you may be of some help.

Lauren

ellie 123

May 25, 2006
Good Luck

Hi Lauren