Caring for my mum

sally1012

Mar 21, 2019
I'm a 40 year old woman who probably doesn't always act her age. I have three teenage daughters, 15,17 and 19 and they probably keep me in line as much as I do them. They are good girls and I am massively proud of them. We sit regularly and go through old photos and we laugh. I work full-time as a retail manager, the team I work with are a great bunch of people and often at work we laugh. I've been married for 15 years and with my husband 22 years (that's scary when I write it down) and we've had some ups and downs but we still have a laugh. I probably drink too wine much sometimes with my friend Kerry who I couldn't get through life without, she makes me laugh most days. My dad is terminally ill with cancer and I visit him most weeks and I love him very much, we always have a laugh. I am the youngest of 6 children and have some real varying relationships with my siblings. I have always been the dependable one. And when we get together we have a laugh. I am a good 4 stone over weight and would love to be smaller but enjoy Chinese food and wine far too much for that to happen. Amongst all this I live in a house with my 3 daughters, husband, cat called Timmy and my 77 year old dementia suffering mum. She was only diagnosed in January but we have all known for a long time. She moved in with us in July last year. She makes me cry, laugh, angry and proud in equal measures. If I'd been told 10 years ago that my life would end up this way I would have said I wouldn't be able to cope and I wouldn't be able to do it. How wrong I would have been. I have to bath and help my mum get dressed and we laugh together to make what could be an awfully humiliating experience for my mum bearable. She was brought up in Liverpool in the 40's and 50's in an orphanage, father dead and mother an alcoholic, with her 5 sisters. Tough as you'd imagine, her stories bring tears to your eyes. But still we laugh. We know we're not perfect and when mum stru