Care Home Guilt

Bakersgirl

Sep 22, 2017
I have been caring for my husband at home for the past four years or so but found I couldn't go on any longer. I was close to breaking down, both physically and mentally. He has now gone into a care home, and I am overwhelmed by guilt. He doesn't accuse me of abandoning him, but doesn't understand why he can't come home or why we can't be together every day. The home is excellent, with kind and caring staff, but is several miles from me and, as I can no longer drive and there is no public transport in the area, I am dependent on friends to take me to see him. My friends are kind but I feel guilty about depending on them, as well as feeling guilty about " putting my husband away", as it were. I know he's better where he is, with skilled and kind staff to look after him, but being apart is breaking my heart and his, and I don't know where to turn for comfort. Any wisdom or advice from fellow sufferers would be so welcome. Bless you all.

Philbo

Feb 28, 2017
Kent
I have been caring for my husband at home for the past four years or so but found I couldn't go on any longer. I was close to breaking down, both physically and mentally. He has now gone into a care home, and I am overwhelmed by guilt. He doesn't accuse me of abandoning him, but doesn't understand why he can't come home or why we can't be together every day. The home is excellent, with kind and caring staff, but is several miles from me and, as I can no longer drive and there is no public transport in the area, I am dependent on friends to take me to see him. My friends are kind but I feel guilty about depending on them, as well as feeling guilty about " putting my husband away", as it were. I know he's better where he is, with skilled and kind staff to look after him, but being apart is breaking my heart and his, and I don't know where to turn for comfort. Any wisdom or advice from fellow sufferers would be so welcome. Bless you all.

It is very difficult isn't it?