Both parents have Dementia and Alzheimers

Sammal

Aug 31, 2013
Letchworth Garden City
Dear all, I am new to all this. My parents were both diagnosed this year. My Dad with Vascular Dementia and my Mum has Mixed (Vascular and Alzheimers). They both seem to plateau for a while and then drop which I understand is normal however, mum seems to remember things on her medication but her confusion is getting much worse. She is hallucinating. She often recognises dad as being someone else and also thinks there is an another old lady living in the house which I think is also dad. They have carers coming in 4 times a day and I don't know if it is the coming and going that is confusing her. My main issue is how do I deal with it. Do I tell her there is no one there or do I play along. I've already evicted one "old girl" from the house and told mum my brother has taken her to the airport but she appears to have come back :eek:. This is very real for mum and she gets upset that nobody believes her. Any advice would be really useful.

Thank you.

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Play along with it sammal for it is so real to your mother there is no point denying it.

I asked my husband if he was frightened of these people and he wasn`t , so it was all right.

This is very real for mum and she gets upset that nobody believes her.

You have your answer. Believe her. I know it isn`t easy but it causes the least distress.

Sunbell

Jul 29, 2010
Yorkshire, England
Oh how terrible that both your parents are suffering with this terrible disease.

I had a similar problem with mum thinking there was another old lady in the room. It turned out it was when she looked at a mirror that she saw this person who she did not recognise as herself and believed it was someone else.

I had to remove mirrors and cover any up that were not movable. It did stop the belief that there was another lady there.

Hope this may help you with your mum, it is worth a try. Take care.

Sunbell:)