Awaiting care package to be in place

Welchy07

Feb 8, 2017
Hi, this is my first time posting, in brief : my dad has vascular dementia , diagnosed 26 years ago, in December he awoke , and was unable to walk or stand, hospitalised where they diagnosed advanced stage dementia : - up till then my mum only had 1 career 5 days a week for 30 mins in the morning. After assessments in hospital it has been agreed during a BI meeting for mum to have their living room turned into ads bedroom with :hospital bed, hoist , and large reclining chair as he now has no core muscle strength to sit safely, anyway, he will need 2 caters 4 times a day for 45 mins as he is terrified of the hoist and terrified of the rolling in bed to meet his personal needs, he has been on the "brokerage" list for 3 weeks and we still have no idea how long it will take for a care provider to pick it up, in the meantime due to the hospital needing his bed (respiratory ward he hgss been moved to a surgical ward (only ward with bed available) much to the disgust of his SW and OT Team , this has become long winded but my question is -has anybody else gave this happen and how long they waited dad been in now 9 weeks! Is there anything we can do he is SF (small contribution from him) - we are desperate to get him home tia

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
Hi Welchy, welcome to TP
A lot I guess depends on where you are, 3 weeks on a brokerage and nothing suggests there may be an issue. Does he live somewhere "out of the way" as travelling to and from the visits will take time which may be a factor. Likewise you now need people who are qualified to use the new equipment so that'll be harder to find.
Is there anything the LA do, like if no one wants the contract after X days they up the budget or does it just sit there until some one does?
I can't imaging the NHS are too impressed tying up a hospital bed while social services get their act together.
K

ricci1003

Feb 8, 2017