Aphasia flash cards

Caro2342

Mar 16, 2023
My husband has been diagnosed as having Alzheimer’s and Aphasia. We struggle to communicate and I have been told there are flash cards available which could help him let me know what he wants to communicate. Does anyone know about these and where I can get them from please?

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
Welcome to the forum @Caro2342

I’ve no experience of using these cards but I had a look on Amazon just now and they list quite a few for purchase.

I wondered if your husband has had a referral to a Speech and Language Therapist (SALT). SALT should be able to provide this kind of thing for you.

Sarasa

Volunteer Host
Apr 13, 2018
Nottinghamshire
Welcome to Dementia Talking Point @Caro2342.
Is this the sort of thing you were looking for?
This is a very friendly and supportive forum and I'm sure people who have used them or know more about the topic will be along soon with their input.

Weasell

Oct 21, 2019
My husband has been diagnosed as having Alzheimer’s and Aphasia. We struggle to communicate and I have been told there are flash cards available which could help him let me know what he wants to communicate. Does anyone know about these and where I can get them from please?
We use things called widgets.
They are used for picture exchange ( bring me a picture of the item and I will give you the real item)

So I might prepare a ‘now and next ‘ board with someone.
They choose the activity, task, food, whatever you want.

Don’t forget you can aways make your own by taking photos and buying a cheap laminator. Rolls of Velcro can be purchased from craft shops or online.I actually think photos work well with dementia. So it’s not a generic cartoon type drawing of a bed , it’s a picture of the bed they use.

Also you can laminate photos of the contents of cupboards and stick the laminate on the door. So you can see at a glance what the cupboard contains?