Anxiety reducing music

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Ive no experience of new , previously unheard music reducing stress in people with dementia but I know favourite music affected my husband and soothed him.

Shedrech

Dec 15, 2012
UK
hi Hillybilly
I started playing the top 'song' and had to turn it off, that sort of sound just winds me up - and other songs in that list eg Enya I just can't listen to - I relax by listening to radio 4
for dad, he doesn't respond to just any sounds - his de-stresser is Modern Jazz Quartet; the xylophone is remarkably soothing and dad loves jazz - I also tell him of the time he visited me at uni and we went to a jazz club in Georgetown for supper and to hear the MJQ live = very special memory for us both

so agree about music being soothing; not so sure there can be a playlist that suits one and all

Saffie

Mar 26, 2011
Near Southampton
I have to say that music really twanged a nerve and I had to turn it off. I do find Enya's Orinoco Flow very soporific though. I hate jazz!

Rageddy Anne

Feb 21, 2013
Cotswolds
hi Hillybilly
I started playing the top 'song' and had to turn it off, that sort of sound just winds me up - and other songs in that list eg Enya I just can't listen to - I relax by listening to radio 4
for dad, he doesn't respond to just any sounds - his de-stresser is Modern Jazz Quartet; the xylophone is remarkably soothing and dad loves jazz - I also tell him of the time he visited me at uni and we went to a jazz club in Georgetown for supper and to hear the MJQ live = very special memory for us both

so agree about music being soothing; not so sure there can be a playlist that suits one and all

I didn't care for it either, in fact it got on my nerves! A bit of Rachmaninov does it for me, and definitely helped my husband when he was at home with Dementia.

Azure9

Jan 13, 2017
Singapore