Am Scared one day I'm going to regret not doing more

MissBB

Aug 20, 2013
Hi I'm new to this.
My mums at the stage where we are looking at care homes. The last year in particular has been the worst. Mum has been sectioned twice. My dad is 82 and he tried his best bless him, but just couldn't do any more at home. We got to crisis after crisis.

My brother lost his job. I'm 150 miles away with a small child. I go every week. I've fought the system - as sadly I see so many people here have to do. I fought so hard trying to get help for my parents that I got ill (panic attacks, anxiety, dizziness). I had to let go a bit - for my little boy's sake, for my families sake.

I detach myself from it when I'm home. I spend a day recovering after Ive visited mum and looked after dad. I sometimes cry a whole day. Then I gradually get back into 'normal' life and carry on. I'm studying and have just found part time work in a job I've wanted for ages. I'll carry on visiting once a week. I'll carry on with that forever. But I'm sometimes scared that one day I'll look back and think I should have done more - how could I have been so selfish to study and work when my mum is suffering so much.

I push the pain to the back of my mind. I don't allow the thoughts to come in, especially at night. But I'm scared that one day I'll hate myself for not being with her more. I read about some wonderful people on here who have devoted so much of their lives - and I feel so bad that I haven't done the same. But it was making me ill and I felt I had to make a choice between my parents sad sad situation, or my own life and family. Am I wrong?? I guess like so many here I just feel guilty.

sistermillicent

Jan 30, 2009