Am I doing the right thing ?

jennypie

Jan 5, 2014
North yorkshire
my husband is in hospital he went ‘off his legs’ not sure if a rapid change in Alzheimer’s uti or what, mobility doesn’t seem to be improving, he doesn’t have any conversation apart from the odd words his only pleasure seems to be eating! He seems settled and watches what is going on arround him what goes on in his mind I don’t know. Home would require a package of carers, hoist bed etc I always thought I would look after him at home as long as possible now all I see is him sitting in his room hoisted by people coming into the house and me popping in and out checking he’s ok as he just has 4 walls to look at so I’m thinking why am I doing this? Should he be somewhere with people arround 24/7 and things going on to stimulate him... for I’ve now tasted freedom sorry if hat sounds selfish but I’ve been caring for him solely for 4 / 5 years and the last ten months it’s been very physically demanding had I been more his age - I’m 63 Snd he’s 80 I wouldn’t of done the things I’ve done. Oh the guilt and sadness of feeling like this ... anyone been there?

Bunpoots

Volunteer Host
Apr 1, 2016
Nottinghamshire
Yes, sort of.

My dad looked after my mum. He tried so hard, too hard in my opinion, to keep mum at home when she could no longer. Even though it was my mum and not my OH it felt terrible to "let her down". I was helping to care for her and working full time. I couldn't afford to give up work - had two kids to think about and their father had just walked out. We just couldn't manage to care for her well enough.

When my aunt went off her legs we had to let her go into a care home. It's just too hard to move an adult who can't bear their own weight.
The home was lovely, always something going on, and a quiet lounge too for those who preferred it.

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
. anyone been there?

Many of us @jennypie