After 36 years of marriage, my wife (57) thinks I am someone else now.

BrianS

Apr 3, 2011
Dorset
After 36 years of marriage, my wife (57) thinks I am someone else now. If I say I am her husband she gets anoyed and says "don't start that again". She also thinks there are several men living in our house now and if I, for example, go downstairs, my wife when she comes down also will mention "that person I was talking to upstairs" ....
Even though my wife doesn't think I am her husband, we still share the same bed and she seems to still like my company. My fear is that this will change. Anyone else experiencing similar situations?

ellejay

Jan 28, 2011
Essex
Hi Brian, Welcome.
I'm sorry, I have no experience of what you are going through, but didn't want your post to go unnoticed.
I'm sure there are Tpers who share your problems & hope some will be along soon.

Take care

Lin x

tre

Sep 23, 2008
Herts
When my husband had a crisis last Autumn he did not recognise me when he awaoke a night and was quite aggressive. He said I was an evil ghost. He did recognise me during the day but was also having scarey hallucinations about dangerous dust and having eaten dirt. He did not want to go out and I could not watch TV or radio as he thought everything related to him personally and was terrified. We could only listen to music on the radio and I had to turn the sound down during the news.This was really horrid and I can imagine how you must feel especially after such a long marriage.