Advice sought on EPA vs LPA and attorneys

Phil612

Feb 1, 2021
Lancaster
Hi,
I'm just in the process of registering an EPA with my Father on behalf of my Mother- held jointly/severally ( her Alzheimers has reached the point where she's no longer capable). I had to gently persuade my father that he could no longer ignore the situation and we had to act. The EP1PG's have been sent and the EP2PG will be sent to the OPG shortly. My father also has an EPA and I'm a named attorney (jointly and severally) with my mother. Clearly my mother is no longer in a position to act as my father's attorney. So some obvious questions have arisen.
1) Am I correct in saying that my mothers inability to act does not negate the legitimacy of my fathers EPA, if I ever have to register his EPA then her incapacity would not automatically block it.
2)In the event of a sole attorney (me) dying or becoming ineligible what typically occurs? my understanding is that a relative can apply to be a deputy from the court of protection, but this can be a lengthy procedure. So is it just good sense to raise LPA's with a second attorney included while my father can still decide for himself.

Last edited:

Jessbow

Mar 1, 2013
Midlands
You can ( or your father can) nominate a reserve attorney~

M in Law has just done hers. Her daughter will be her attorney, her son ( my husband) the reserve, in case anything happens to his sister.

Didnt think it was the best way to do it, but thats what she did

Phil612

Feb 1, 2021
Lancaster
You can ( or your father can) nominate a reserve attorney~

M in Law has just done hers. Her daughter will be her attorney, her son ( my husband) the reserve, in case anything happens to his sister.

Didnt think it was the best way to do it, but thats what she did
Was it with an existing EPA or an LPA?

Up the Creek

Sep 9, 2020
East Anglia
Hi @Phil612,