Advice for starting a family focus group

JoJo60

Jan 15, 2021
Hi
I am a Deputy Nurse manager in a Nursing Home. I want to start a family focus group, involving the family and friends of the residents.
It will be an informal group, not a platform for complaining but a way of involving family and friends in the care of the resident, offering support and ideas on how we can improve care/activities/social interactions. Develop relationships between care staff and families.
Possibly do some sessions on communication, support, end of life care and coping with grief.
Families/Friends, I would really appreciate your input.

marionq

Apr 24, 2013
Scotland
I get a monthly newsletter from
My sister in law’s care home. It gives basic admin info and an attachment showing activities and photographs for the month. It includes new clients and birthdays each month for existing clients. I am named as contact and I pass it on to two other family members and leave it to them to follow up anything relevant.

Especially in current circumstances I find it useful.

Jaded'n'faded

Jan 23, 2019
High Peak
I think it's a great plan :)

The three things I would want to be covered in such a group are: communication, communication and communication! Relatives are particularly anxious when they cannot visit their loved one and I'm sure would appreciate regular calls from the care home to let them know how things are going. (Yes, I know people can ring up anytime themselves to find out but it would be better if it came from the care home and from someone who actually knows that resident rather than info from a passing carer who just happened to answer the phone.)

Good luk!

Shedrech

Dec 15, 2012
UK
I am assuming this is not a way to have a resident engage with their family/friends .... which is a major concern of many members .... but a way to have fanily'friends in contact with each other and staff